20 Aug

Prize Pot Revised At Yorkshire Marathon

Plusnet Yorkshire Marathon 2014Organisers of the Plusnet Yorkshire Marathon have unveiled a new prize structure for October’s event that will reward top placed British and Irish runners. News of the revised prize pot comes shortly after confirmation that a 10 mile race will also be held on the same day as this year’s event on Sunday 11 October.

A total of £4,200 has been set aside for the top three performers in each field. The male and female winner will each receive £1,200, with £600 going to second place and £300 for third. There will also be a total cash pot of £3,800 reserved for runners holding a valid British or Irish passport. This fund will be used to pay prizes ranging from £500 to £100.

All entrants will be eligible for time bonuses, a new feature established to reward outstanding performances. Any men going below 2:15 will get £750 and the same sum will go to any women going under 2:35. Every male running below 2:20 will receive £500 and that amount will also be given to women getting under 2:42. A £1,000 prize is being offered to anyone who can set a new course record – currently 2:13:31 for men and 2:40:06 for women. 

Steve Worthington, elite athlete co-ordinator for the Plusnet Yorkshire Marathon, said: “After reviewing last year’s elite race, we wanted to re-focus our approach by developing a prize structure that better reflects our aims for 2015.

“Not only do we want to attract top international athletes, we also want the very best British athletes to join us at the Plusnet Yorkshire Marathon. With a larger, deeper British only prize pot, along with the addition of time related bonuses for all who achieve them, our 2015 prize fund reflects this desire”

The 2014 marathon, part of the Jane Tomlinson Run For All series, saw a host of elite runners compete with a series of strong times: Kenya’s Boniface Kongin took first in 2:13:59, with Cosmas Kigen second (2:15:58) and Matthew Kiprotich third (2:17:05). Shona Fletcher secured top position in the female field in 2:43:48, with Bayrush Shiferaw second (2:45:00) and Jo Zakrzewski third (2:45:05).

More information on the event is available here