21 Sep

Round Off 2017 With A PB At Ribble Valley

Ribble Valley 10K

What better way to march into 2018 than with a New Year’s Eve PB? That will surely be the thought for over 1,000 runners tackling the Ribble Valley 10K, which is now taking entries for its event on Sunday 31 December. 

The Ribble Valley 10K can be traced back to the early 1980s when Clayton Le Moors Harriers, Ron Hill’s club, first organised the race in the winter as the Clitheroe 10K, in parallel with the Clitheroe 10 Mile. Although the 10 miler fell by the wayside the 10k race survived and is now organised by Blackburn Harriers.

The event returned last year after a one year hiatus after the 2015 staging was cancelled due to severe flooding. Like 2016, this year’s staging will incorporate the North of England Athletics 10K championships, meaning a host of elites are likely to compete.

Last year saw a top three of Marc Scott, Chris Farrell and Richard Allen – all dipping under 30 minutes, with Scott claiming victory in 29:33. Less than a second separated Chris Farrell (29:59) and Richard Allen, with the former edging victory. Blackpool, Wyre and Fylde’s Emily Japp secured a PB as she took the female title in 34:35, with Sarah Johnson (35:00) and Georgia Malir (35:20) claiming second and third respectively.

These impressive times were one of the first features the event organising committee mentioned when speaking to runABC North: “This is truly the last chance for anyone wanting to climb up the UK ranking list in 2017. We had three runners run 29 minutes in 2016, and, as the event once again will be the Northern Athletics 10k Championships we hope to have a fast field pushing for more of the same.”

Entry is available here