14 Aug

Shaw Shows The Way At Darlington

Dominic Shaw

The 30th staging of the Darlington 10K proved to be a suitably memorable event with a new champion crowned in Dominic Shaw, who is now the deserving owner of a course record. As expected, the race drew in a sizable turnout for the birthday celebrations with close to 2000 runners competing on Sunday (13 August). 

The field were given their marching orders by the sound of a klaxon to tackle a fast course with just over 60m of elevation. New Marske Harriers’ Shaw, second at last month’s Sunderland 5K, recorded the fastest ever time at the race, 30:02, to take victory ahead of Jonny Mellor (30:07).

Shaw’s victory saw him oust athletes who had impressed previously at the race: Abraham Tewelde, second at last year’s event, secured third in 30:22, while Wondiye Indelbu, winner in 2013 and 2014, was fourth (30:27). Shaw posted an image on Twitter as he crossed the line with the humble caption “The roads of Darlo were kind to me this morning.”

Leeds City AC’s Emma Clayton continued what has been a successful 2017 with another victory in 35:12, while Catherine Taylor took second in 35:32 and Birtley AC’s Tracy Millmore third (36:14). Tai Charlton was midplaced in the field in 54:19, while the last runner came home in just over 2 hours 2 minutes.

Phil Haymer, Darlington 10K race director, said: "It was a great day and weather certainly helped to bring out the crowds. We were hoping for a course record with some of the changes we have made, so we couldn't be any happier with how the racing went."

Full results are available on our race listings page.