13 Mar

Top Times At Trafford 10K

Trafford 10K winners Nick McCormick and Helen Clitheroe, first and third from leftThe Trafford 10K lived up to its reputation as being one of the fastest races on the circuit with a series of runners posting extremely quick times. Olympian Nick McCormick set a PB of 28:56 on route to victory, with Helen Clitheroe top in the female field. 

The race attracted a record entry of 994 runners before the deadline on Tuesday (4 March). Morpeth Harrier McCormick, fresh from his success at the Armagh International Road Race, fought off strong competition from Ross Millington (29:23) and last year’s winner, Richard Weir (29:33), to finish first. The quality of the field was such that seven of the top ten runners set sub 30:00 times. McCormick tweeted after the race: “Really pleased to win the Trafford 10K. I see that I just ran 28:56. Building momentum.” 

The women’s competition was similarly strong with a host of elite runners all competing. Clitheroe, who had ran a 26:51 at the Alsager 5 last month, led the field home in 32:48, with Sonia Samuels closely following (32:57) and Louise Damen in third (33:28). Clitheroe commented: “Happy to win @Trafford10k this morning and well pleased for my team mate @SoniaSamuels getting a massive PB in 2nd.”

Event organiser Dave Norman commented: “This event is special to me because I've seen it grow from the small race it was when I took over, to being one of the best 10k races in the country. It's special to the serious runners, too, because they know it's a great opportunity to come and run a fast time because the course is so fast and there's always a strong field.”